As It Is Written……….

image

Todays blog post is an announcement of sorts.

During the last year, especially in the last six moths or so, I have felt that The Madcap Woodwright Blog has been an awesome medium to work out various thoughts and ideas I have had of late. I hope that you who read my meandering, sometimes actually sentiant, ramblings have enjoyed the experience.

Edit to say:
The Madcap Woodwright Blog will continue. It’s a bit of an addiction, so it’s not going away any time soon.

I say this because, after a good deal of thought and much hand wringing, I have decided to sit down and write a book.

Let me say right now, that I in NO WAY  would ever compare myself to Papa hemingway. Nor would I dare to proffer the notion that I am in any way the next James Krenov of the woodworking literature world.

I am writing this book for a couple of reasons.

First, I found that I have been writing a great deal about some fairly longwinded topics here on the blog. This will continue, but I wanted to divert to the book some topics that I have raised here, but wanted to explore more fully. A book seemed a logical way to do this.

Second, I wanted to write this book because…..well…..I wanted to see if I could do it. I wanted to see if I could do it and also to see if it were any good.
I am NOT doing this to make money. However, I will be self publishing it on Amazon Kindle among other digital platforms. Currently, there are no plans for hard copy versions to be printed, but if there is a demand, the platform I am using to format the manuscript allows me to create a format file that can then be used to provide “print on demand” hard copy books too……so there is that.

So far, I have an outline…see below….and a fairly solid start on my rough draft.

I am including the outline of chapters here. The working title is “The Madcap Woodwright, A Guide To Joyfully Working Wood With Abandon”.

I would welcome any comments or suggestions any of you may have after looking over the outline below.

Be advised, this outline is the roughest of drafts of the actual outline. It is more or less just an idea “sticky pad” that I am working from currently.

Please feel free to comment/suggest or share thoughts on content. No promises that it would be included in the final manuscript, but I am nothing if not shamelessly willing to take good ideas and run with them….HEE HEE….let the fun begin.

The Madcap Woodwright

A Guide To Joyfully Working Wood With Abandon

By John D. McBride

OUTLINE:

Introduction

Chapter 1 – It Takes A Madcap

A) For the greater good-

B) Rethinking traditional views on design and woodworking

C) Why elitism sucks

Chapter 2 – Life Is Too Short – 3 “Rules” to joyful woodworking and life

Don’t sweat the small stuff

B)  It’s ALL small stuff

C)  Always remember  1&2

Chapter 3 – The Madcap Workshop – Observations On Creating A Happy Place.

The Tiny shop – Why Aesthetics Count

Tooling

Recycle-reuse-repurpose

Handwork vs. Machine Work.

B)   Discover your muse, design your shop.

Chapter 4 – The Joy Of Design

Inspiration, where to find it and what to do with it

B)   Sketch, sketch, sketch!!!!

C)   Flying by the seat of your pants, and why it’s so important.

D)   The soothing of the inner anal retentive

Order of operation

Chapter 5 – Thoughts On Success and Failure.

Reexamining and redefining

B)   Progress, not perfection, freedom to make mistakes

C)   It’s not a mistake, till’ it can’t be fixed….It can always be fixed.

D) If you are not making any mistakes, you are not doing anything.

Chapter 6 – Bizarro Economy, The Madcap Woodwright’s Natural Habitat.

How an Arts and Crafts Revival might save the world

B)   Build it, and they just might come

C)   Defining value

Chapter 7 – More Than Madcap / Expanding Into The Community.

Responsible craftsmanship

B)   Find your tribe

C)   Thoughts on pragmatism, and why it’s overrated.

Chapter 8 – Moment By Moment / Mindful Woodworking

Like me on Facebook @ Madcapwoodwright
Follow me on Twitter @ mdcpwoodwright

2 thoughts on “As It Is Written……….

Leave a Reply

