HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY…. or “HOW IS HE GOING TO GET A WOODWORKING POST OUT OF MOTHER’S DAY?”

I am not sure that I can actually, though that will not stop me from trying.

If we take the LOVE OF MY LIFE, my wife, out of the equation for the sake of this post, it has been my parents who have had the largest positive impact on my woodworking career. Both my Mother and my Father  have been consistent encouragers of my expression of creativity via the medium of woodwork and furniture.

Both have a keen design eye. Fundamentally traditional by nature, they have been exceptionally talented in showing me by example, what “works” in a home setting.

While she may not know it, my mother is responsible for helping to instill in me a desire  to create and express myself. Making furniture or exploring shapes through the use of wood, has been the mainstay of my creativity,writing having become a second medium only very recently.  In both instances, it has been my mother that has been among the very first and most ardent patrons.

Having someone, anyone, encourage you to explore an internal need to create, is among the most personal and intimate relational connections that people can share. The self doubt and internal, highly critical voices can sometimes range from small self doubting whispers, to loud self doubting rants. Having a person in your life who “gets it”  or more importantly, gets what it is that I am trying to do, makes it much more bearable to push through the doubt and lack of confidence, and take the risks.

So, on this mother’s day, I want thank my mom for being that person. It has made a large impact and it is very appreciated to have you rooting for me Mom.

Like me on Facebook @ Madcapwoodwright
Follow me on Twitter @ mdcpwoodwright

2 thoughts on “HAPPY MOTHER’S DAY…. or “HOW IS HE GOING TO GET A WOODWORKING POST OUT OF MOTHER’S DAY?”

  1. Christine McBride

    I wish I had words to tell you how much this means to me. Thank you for this. I will treasure it.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

