The Once and Future……..Shop.

As winter has begun it’s annual transformation into springtime, my creative juices have begun to thaw.

Yes, this blog has done well to quell the ongoing need to express myself, as have aspects of the classes I am taking at the Fine Woodworking Program at Red Rocks Community College. However, I find myself desperately craving to flip the switch on my “New-to-me” shop.

Allow me to recap some of the previous posts I have made here. I am the proud owner of a “lightly used” General International contractors table saw. She comes equipped with General (Canada)’s Biesemeyer rip fence. This is, by it self, worth the paltry admission price I paid for the saw. The saw also has a true 2 horse power motor, and a full cast iron top.  All very, very desirable features to be sure.  Though, on the down side, she will need arbor bearings soon. She does have the beginnings of the tell tale “whine” that signals the need for some tender loving care.
Also, if I were a smart man, I would tune the saw to the “nth” degree while I was elbow deep in the saw’s guts. Aligning the blade to the mitre slots, and also aligning the fence to the blade. In addition, it would seem to make sense to add a couple of modifications while I am at it. The PALS system, is a very, very simple add on that makes alignment procedures much, much simpler. Add the PALS, some machined pulleys, and a new drive belt, and the saw should perform quite well for my needs….quite well indeed.

Next in the line up is my “new-to-me” Inca 510 jointer/planer. Since I have not had a chance to fire it up yet, I am forced into trusting the previous owner’s description and anticipating nothing more than a good lubricating of moving parts, and waxing the jointer and planer beds. It’s promise of an exceptional cut quality, and precision have me chomping at the bit to put it through its paces.

Because the Inca is now safely in hand, I had turned my attention to finding it’s companion, and I finally got a line on one of those lunch box planers I mentioned some time ago.

The Ryobi AP-10 was the original lunch box planer. Originally designed, built, and sold in the mid to late ’80s, the little Ryobi is of advanced age now, no question about it. This does not worry me in the least. The Ryobi AP-10 has always had, and continues to have, a reputation for longevity.

Ryobi had something to prove back then, so they “over engineered” the little surfacer. They are beloved by their owners because of their ease of upkeep, solid construction, and unwillingness to provide an owner a reason to replace it. They just keep going, and going, and going. The only reason I am able to get my hands on one at all, is because the owner willing to let this one go, has a second one that he has been bouncing back and forth between. He feels that that is a bit of overkill. HA! … HA HA HA!!!

I don’t think I need to mention how difficult it was for me to keep my mouth shut. To NOT preach that there is absolutely no reason to feel guilty about having two planers….It pained me like none other, but … I WANT this little planer. So discretion proved to be the better part of valor in this case.

Add to an insanely low asking price for this machine ($75), the current owner is also including the original manual, the blade setting jig, and a NEW set of resharpenable blades. Not only is the little workhorse well equipped, but it is also in really good condition based on several pictures I got from the current owner. Seems he is a bit anal retentive about his tools too….my kind of guy.
Normally, IF you can find one of these little gems for sale AT ALL, they NEVER have the manual and usually have the disposable, NON-resharpenable blades.

THIS is one of the original machines, one of the good ones.

As soon as I am able, I will be adding this machine to my current line up, thus inching closer to basic operating ability.

The only other pieces to the puzzle that need to be fitted into place for basic operational capability are, installation and powering of the “new-to-me” sub panel I acquired for free from a friend, the running of the Romex to the soon to be installed outlet boxes and ceiling lighting fixtures, and find the best deal on Pony brand 3/4″ pipe clamp fixtures and black iron pipe.

THEN

…wait for it….

BUILD MY FREAKING BENCH!!!!!!

Now, I know you all will miss my incessant blogging on which bench to build for myself and why.
So, in an effort to keep ALL of you happy, I will say that as soon as this bench is finally built, I am QUITE sure I will be dissecting it’s good qualities and failings in an effort to justify the building of a MUCH BETTER (insert a “knowing” … as in… “Knowing” I will be building many benches in the future, as it’s my weakness … tone of voice here) bench, to replace the one I just finished building.

In the meantime, I am going to go on the hunt for worthy 4×4 Douglas Fir  material for the top and the trestle. I know already that Lee Valley Tools has my two bench vises for this bench at reasonable prices. For now, it’s about the wood.

Ill be looking for dry, non-pithy, non “Boxed Heart” boards to laminate into a top. The trestle will consist mostly of 4×4 construction, but the two rails that connect the left side to the right side of the base, will most likely be 2×6 boards. The top will be laminated, yes that’s true, but the base is all mortise and tenon construction. It will be heavy, and stout.
Right now, I am planning to put a tool well on the back of the bench. As I have said before, I have never had a bench with one, and I WANT one. If I like it, it might be a regular feature on future benches I build. If not…bonus…it’s an excuse to design and build another BENCH!!!!

As it is now, I am inching closer to making the little shop that could, a reality. With any luck, I will be able to make things minimally operational this spring/summer. Once that happens, I can begin moving to fill in the blanks that will round out the tooling needs. Routers, band saw, dust collection, etc.

For now, the goal is just to get the space set up to accept the shop, and to begin tuning and using the tools I have/am getting very soon, so that I can begin both creating, and building shop fixtures. (like a super cool tool cabinet)………

Like me on Facebook @ Madcapwoodwright
Follow me on Twitter @ mdcpwoodwright

Leave a Reply

