Revising my First Book, ‘Workbenches’

Chris Schwarz’s first book, responsible for the rediscovery of the Roubo bench, is a must have for any bench building junkie like me. If you would a enjoy well written, impeccably researched treatise on the design, construction, and use of “other than Scandinavian design” workbenches, buy this book.

Lost Art Press

PW_Chris's-Bench-2-copy

For the last month, I’ve been revising and expanding my first book “Workbenches: From Design & Theory to Construction & Use” for F+W Media. The revised book is scheduled to be out by the end of 2015 and printed in the United States.

I started writing that book in 2005, and a lot has changed in the last 10 years – not in workbench design, but in workholding. Plus, after teaching 15 or so classes on building workbenches (and building another dozen benches myself), I have learned a few things about bench building that have made my life easier.

Oh, and there are a few small errors in the original edition, including one line that people give me inordinate amounts of crap for. I wrote that I added a coat of wax to a benchtop, and then in a later photo caption discuss how that’s stupid for handwork. So I…

View original post 262 more words

Leave a Reply

