Don’t be Mr. Weiner

Interesting topic. One that deserves more discussion in my view. Great comments too.

Lost Art Press

wierix_moulding_IMG_9456

It’s easy to think that there aren’t any secrets left in woodworking. But I don’t think that’s true.

While a lot of the basic hand and machine skills are widely discussed and disseminated (thank you, Internet), a good deal of specialized and advanced knowledge is still frustratingly obscured. Here’s one small example.

When I was a junior editor at Popular Woodworking Magazine I was assigned to work with a prominent furniture-maker to help him develop his article ideas and get them into print. Standard stuff. I won’t use his name because I was raised right.

During a visit to his shop I noticed he had a lot of complex moulders and hollows and rounds planes. At that time, there were maybe four articles written about these planes that I could find. I was personally desperate to learn more, so I assumed that our readers would be as well.

The guy…

View original post 263 more words

Leave a Reply

