MOVING RIGHT ALONG……

Red Rocks Community College’s Fine Woodworking program is awesome!  I am a good way through this intensive introductory class just now, and loving every minute of it. The Intro to Fine Woodworking class is the gate keeper to all that is woodworking goodness at RRCC. Degree seeking students must go through this class in order to be able to have access to the rest of the class offerings.

The intro class starts out with a heavy emphasis on hand tools. Sharpening, fitting, tuning, etc. are the foundation of this class. A small stool project is the culmination of this course of study for the initial hand tool portion of the class. The small stool is to be fabricated entirely by use of hand tools. EXACTLY what I was hoping for when I signed up for this course.
later in the class, we get to learn to use the big boy toys, so rest easy, more adventure is to follow.

I am going after an actual degree in fine woodworking. While I have a great deal of practical experience in professional woodworking and cabinetmaking, I felt the need to “make it official” by adding some alphabet soup to the end of my name.

I had considered College of the Red Woods, RSDI, and several other well known schools. However, cost, logistics and the discovery that RRCC had a world class program, made the decision very, very easy for me. The shop is incredibly well outfitted, the staff, at least so far, has been exceptionally well versed in woodcraft, and the cost for an instate student all combine to make this an incredible match for me.

I know this sounds like a commercial for the school, but I can not say enough about my experience there so far. If anyone has any interest in going after fine woodworking certificates or a degree in fine woodworking, you owe it to yourself to at least give RRCC a look see. Even out of state tuition is a real bargain when compared to the other, more vaunted, programs out there. Before you commit to any program on either of the coasts, or in the south, it would be a very good idea to look into Red Rock’s program.

That’s all for today. I am recovering from some lower back surgery(ish) procedures. So I am letting things in my lumbar settle out this weekend, rather than jumping into the new shop space to get things moved along. I hope to post up a rambling on the progress I am making on workbench design and plans. With any luck, this will include some pictures too….fingers crossed.

Leave a Reply

